Last month the ARI NSW held the 54th Annual Conference & Trade Show at the Crowne Plaza Terrigal. The event ran over 2 days and was well attended by a diverse group of over 180 Industry Professionals.

The AGM was held on Sunday 17th June and saw the re-election of the ARI Committee including Colin Kane as President, Roz Neville as Vice President, Matt Griffiths as Treasurer & Stan Wall as Secretary. In addition to the Committee elections, the ARI Committee also inducted David Lloyd, Stephen Leahy and John Davies as Fellows of the Aquatic & Recreation Institute.

 Some key highlights of the event include the insightful sessions from our keynote Speakers Wayne Pearce & James Adonis – both of whom applied great insights to the way we can work better in a team environment.

 Other highlights include presentations from Opium Groups’ Mike King on Facility Design; PCYC CEO Dominic Teakle presented on an Effective Strategic plan to ensure best practise in an organisation. There were also Industry updates from RLSSA on the GSPO & RLS on the Audit of Aquatic Facilities, AUSTSWIM Industry workshop and several sessions from both Aquatic & Recreations Streams were offered for our delegates to choose over the 2 days from a variety of well-known Industry leaders.

The Annual Awards Dinner was the time to acknowledge the Industry’s outstanding achievers for the past 12 months. Once again there was an incredibly high level of submissions and the winners were awarded as follows:

  • AH Peirce Facility of the Year – Annette Kellerman Aquatic Centre
  • RLS Lifeguard of the Year – Clayton Smith, Willoughby Leisure Centre
  • Orimatech Award of Excellence – Les Watt, Manly Andrew ‘Boy’ Charlton Aquatic Centre
  • Roejen Customer Service Team of the Year – Musswellbrook Aquatic & Fitness Centre
  • Roejen Environmental Sustainability Award – City of Sydney Pools
  • ARI President’s Award – Stuart Crane, Crane Aquatics.


This year saw the very first Team Delivery for the ARI Mentor Program with the top 3 teams from BlueFit, Belgravia Leisure & Sydney Gymnastic & Aquatic Centre selected to deliver their Final Pitch to our judges. Each team delivered an incredible pitch and impressed everyone in the room for what was accomplished within a 6-month period. The winning team was announced at the Awards Dinner, and we should congratulate the BlueFit team: Outa McHardy, Roland Karoliny, Jemma Malik & Chis McAdam, mentored by Nichole Edsal from Blacktown Venue Management. The Team have developed an exciting program called Salt and the best way to showcase this amazing concept is to share the link to view the overview of their concept: 

A big thanks to all who attended and were involved in making the Conference such a huge success as we now commence preparations for the 55th Conference and our events for the next 12 months so watch this space!!

  IMG 1167 web 

IMG 1201 webIMG 1301 web 

Louise Magee
Executive Officer

Business & Trade Members are entitled to display a banner here for only $100pa - Contact us

Contact LIWA

ABN:  35 334 789 538

We provide support, professional development and networking opportunities for individuals in the aquatic industry throughout Western Australia.

  1. PO Box 726, Hillarys, WA 6923
  2. (08) 9383 8238
  3. Email using this form

Latest Tweets