42nd Annual Gala Dinner


The dinner began with pre-dinner drinks in the Trade Exhibition area sponsored by Carol and Mark Harper from AVP Commercial Pools.  Our President Jeff Fondacaro then started proceedings by welcoming all our guests and delegates to the conference dinner as well as making mention of our Life Members in the audience as well as members who have been attending the conference for many of its 42 years.

After a beautiful main meal smorgasbord that had a range of seafood, beef, chicken and salads that saw some individuals going back more than twice, the guests settled back in for the more formal side of the evening with the presentation of the 2011 Awards.

The first presentations were to the 30 and 35 year stalwarts of our industry including Ray Sutherland, Gary McKeon, David Parish and David Smither.  This is a great achievement for our industry with the Gary and Dave Parish having over 35 years of service to their communities and the aquatic industry.


Andy and Partner & Cristiano

The first of the more formal awards were presented to Graeme Pollett from Katanning for his work in opening a newly refurbished facility, widely promoting Watch Around Water and for his assistance in the 2010 Country Conference.  Lauren Nimmo was then recognised for her untiring commitment to Watch Around Water both in Western Australia and nationally.  Bev Bridgland was then presented with a beautiful gold bracelet for her contribution to LIWA Aquatics over many years after resigning as Secretary partway through this year.  The industry will miss Bev as she is a great person and fun individual to work with.

This year two individuals were recognised with Lifetime Achievement Awards for their contributions to the Australian Aquatic Industry.  It was with great pleasure that LIWA Aquatics President Jeff Fondacaro presented Dawne Thomas and the Peter Hobson with this award for the incredible contribution to the development of our industry.  Dawne still continues to guide the industry in her role as President of Recreation South Australia and Peter still works very hard to maintain Chadson Engineering as one of the major filter manufactures in Australasia.  The citations for both Peter and Dawne will be placed on the LIWA Aquatics website.  Congratulations to both these individuals who have already done so much for the industry and still give freely of their time and experience to anyone who seeks assistance.



Lifetime Achievement Award Winners Dawne Thomas and Peter Hobson


The final presentation was the Presidents Award for Excellence and this year it was presented to long term LIWA Aquatics Member Maurice Dhue.  This award highlights the ability of our industry personnel to promote the ethos of the Institute.  Maurice has not only served the Shire of Collie for 28 years but has promoted the highest safety standards and fully embraced what LIWA Aquatics stands for and was a very worthy winner of this year's Presidents Award for Excellence.The dinner continued late into the evening and was a wonderful way to wind up Day One of the 42nd Annual Conference and Trade Display.


President Award Winner Maurice Dhue

Business & Trade Members are entitled to display a banner here for only $100pa - Contact us

Contact LIWA

ABN:  35 334 789 538

We provide support, professional development and networking opportunities for individuals in the aquatic industry throughout Western Australia.

  1. PO Box 726, Hillarys, WA 6923
  2. (08) 9383 8238
  3. Email using this form

Latest Tweets